In a weird turn of events, players had fallen victim to a message that would be sent to them during online games and inevitably, it rendered their consoles unusable unless they reinstalled their OS or took it into Safe Mode and rebuilt their databases. Here’s what you need to know.
For nearly the last month it seemed that receiving messages on Sony’s PlayStation Network was almost the worst idea you could ever have. After all, it’s not like PSN users need to communicate or anything. But, somehow, somewhere, someone got the bright idea to figure out how to “brick” PlayStation 4’s with a specific string of characters by sending them in a message for users to view.
In a recent tweet on Sony’s support account, one of their support reps has confirmed that the newly released system software update is to fix this flaw that would send users consoles into a crash loop that wouldn’t end unless the console was put into safe mode and its database was rebuilt.
Right now, we don’t know if this is a permanent fix to the glitch or if it’s really a fix at all. We still advise you err on the side of caution when receiving messages on PlayStation Network and keep your privacy settings set to friends for the time being. After all, who really wants to risk a “crashed” console anyways?
About the Writer(s):
Dustin is our native console gamer, PlayStation and Nintendo reviewer who has an appetite for anything that crosses the borders from across the big pond. His interest in JRPG’s, Anime, Handheld Gaming, and Pizza is insatiable. His elitist attitude gives him direction, want, and a need for the hardest difficulties in games, which is fun to watch, and hilarity at its finest. You can find him over on Twitter or Facebook.